Comment on Immigrants

When I think of immigrants, I recall when I worked as a security supervisor for Urban Retail Properties.  Most workers employed by contractors were undocumented and Spanish speaking.  They frequently worked 12 hour days for perhaps $25.00 / day.  They worked extremely hard without security or “rights.”

Second, I think of the majority of US STEM Ph.D. candidates who are immigrants.

Both groups are hard working, competent, and appear to be law abiding.

So my experiences fly in the face of political rhetoric which vilified immigrants with broad strokes.

My own perspective is to support a path to citizenship, to be inclusive of individuals with backgrounds in labor, ethics, the arts, as well as technical fields.

My grandparents were immigrants.

We are one people, and made stronger by diversity.

The most important Hebrew prayer from Deuteronomy is relevant:  “Here O Israel, the Lord is God, the Lord is One.”  It is, in part, a recognition that we are all part of the unity of God.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment